WVSOM SGA Scholarship Award

The SGA Scholarship Award was created in 2015 to recognize those students who enhance the experience at WVSOM and embody the following ideal: "students who go above and beyond to serve other students". Past recipients have mentored their fellow students, shared their own resources to facilitate the learning of others, founded clubs and organized events, and brought students together in new and creative ways. They are passionate leaders who represent the heart of the WVSOM community, and who continue to foster an environment of connectedness. Each winner will receive a monetary award and will be recognized at the WVSOM Spring Awards Ceremony in April of that year.

The SGA Scholarship Award recipient must be a full-time student at WVSOM who will be enrolled for the following academic year, to which the award will be applied. The winner cannot be a previous recipient of the WVSOM SGA Scholarship Award.

2015 Award Recipients

  • Class of 2016: Erin Goode and Farrah Fong
  • Class of 2017: Julia Vu and Bradley Marple
  • Class of 2018: Ahmed Hassabelnaby and Michael Blahut

WVSOM Student D.O. of the Year Award

The Student DO of the Year Award (SDOY) is an award presented annually by the Council of Osteopathic Student Government Presidents (COSGP), a council of the American Association of Colleges of Osteopathic Medicine (AACOM), to students who go above and beyond the average osteopathic medical student. Each School or College of Osteopathic Medicine (SOM/COM) will select a school SDOY. The WVSOM SDOY will receive a monetary award and be recognized at the WVSOM Spring Awards Ceremony in April of that year. The winner from each institution will go on to compete for the National SDOY Award. The National SDOY will be announced at the AACOM Annual Meeting in April and will be the recipient of a monetary award.

The SDOY Award Recipient must be a full time student at a SOM/COM and cannot be a previous school or national Student DO of the Year (SDOY) recipient.

This individual should represent the following ideals and values:

  • Leadership
  • Commitment to Community Service
  • Dedication to the Profession •
  • Professionalism
  • Embodiment of the Osteopathic Philosophy

2015 Award Recipient

  • Miles Medina